Chicken Fajita Baked Potato with Guacamole and Sriracha Cream Sauce

We have fajitas for dinner pretty regularly, especially when I was pregnant and I was horrible about eating vegetables.  Sometimes I would just grill up one chicken breast for my husband and I would add some zucchini and squash to my dinner.  It is such a great way to get a large serving of vegetables and they taste great!  This meal is a great way to use up the leftovers.  I’ll often do a similar version of this with left over steak as well, making it a Philly Cheese Steak Baked Potato!  Yum!

Of course, you don’t have to use leftovers, you can make this all in one night, it just takes a little longer.  The directions below are how I made it last night.  I had my husband add some extra chicken to the grill on Sunday, so they were already cooked, just needed a little reheating.  I made fresh onions and peppers and a lazy guacamole.  I find it pointless to put all the effort into a fabulous guacamole when you’re going to cover it up with a strong flavored sauce such as this sriracha cream sauce.  I just take the avocado, mash it up with some salt and pepper and call it guacamole.  I would rather have the good stuff as a dip, but on this dish, you’d never miss all the goodies mixed in.

The sriracha cream sauce is what makes this dish!  It is DELICIOUS!  I may have had a spoonful or two to taste test.  Gotta make sure it’s well flavored!  Our family likes a lot of spice, but the recipe below is more of a medium spice.  If you like things hot, add an addition tablespoon or two of sriracha.  If you like a more mild heat,  start with one or two teaspoons of sriracha.

CHICKEN FAJITA BAKED POTATO WITH AVOCADO AND SRIRACHA CREAM SAUCE (serves 4)

4 russet potatoes

2 TBS olive oil, plus more for brushing

1 large yellow onion, thickly sliced

2 large green peppers, thickly sliced

2 chicken breasts, grilled and sliced

2 avocados, mashed with salt and pepper

1 cup shredded cheese of choice

1/2 cup light sour cream

1/3 cup light mayonnaise or greek yogurt

1 TBS sriracha

1/2 tsp red pepper flake

kosher salt

pepper

 

Preheat oven to 425.  Microwave your washed potatoes for 8 minutes.  Brush the potatoes with a light coat of olive oil.  This gives them a shiny crisp skin after baking.  Bake on the center rack for 20-25 minutes, until fork tender.

Mix sour cream, mayo or yogurt, sriracha, red pepper flake, and salt & pepper to taste in a small bowl.

Heat a large saute pan on medium high heat.  Add 2 TBS olive oil, onions, and peppers.  Flavor with salt and pepper.  Saute until peppers begin to soften and onions are golden, approximately 8-10 minutes.  Add chicken at very end, stirring into vegetables and allowing to reheat for a couple minutes.

Remove potatoes from the oven, slice open, and top with onions, peppers, and chicken.  Sprinkle with 1/4 cup cheese.  Top with guacamole and sriracha cream sauce.

Leave a comment