Greek Salad

I LOVE Greek salad!  And lately I can’t get enough of it!  My husband will be out of town for the next four nights, and I am predicting Greek salad will be my dinner for at least 3 of those nights!  I used to make a Greek vinaigrette for this salad, but now I’m in love with this balsamic vinaigrette.  I never buy it from the store anymore.  This recipe is so easy to make and tastes so much better!

The dressing does have honey in it, so it will thicken up when refrigerated.  I recommend taking it out of the fridge 15 minutes before you’re going to put it on your salad.  Or you could just give it a good shake and use it as is, it still tastes great!

That napkin in the picture above, it used to be a shirt, my husband’s shirt!  A couple years ago, I decided he should never wear it (it was a henley with a banded collar!) so I turned it into napkins!  There was a bright blue hawaiian print shirt that met a similar fate!  We use them every night!  They get a lot more love now then they ever did in his closet, thank goodness!  Although based on this picture, they could still use a visit from an iron, but I’m just too lazy for that kind of effort!

 

GREEK SALAD

Lettuce (I like 50/50 spring mix and baby spinach)

Red onion, thinly sliced

Grape tomatoes, halved

Cucumber, sliced

Feta cheese

Sliced almonds

Kalamata olives, pitted

Balsamic vinaigrette (recipe below)

Arrange lettuce on a plate.  Top with remaining ingredients to taste.

 

BALSAMIC VINAIGRETTE (adapted from Chinese Grandma)

2 tablespoon whole grain dijon mustard

3/4 teaspoon salt

3/4 teaspoon ground pepper

3/4 cup balsamic vinegar

3/4 cup extra virgin olive oil

1 garlic clove, minced

2 tablespoons honey

 

Put all ingredients in a 1 pint jar, adding honey last.  Shake vigorously until well combined.

Store in the fridge, just give it a shake before each use.

Leave a comment